The way it's meant to be played?

graphics-cards
legal

Just caught this interesting article on Hardocp which is talking about potentially anti-competitive practices from NVIDIA with their new geforce partner program.

The crux of the issue with NVIDIA GPP comes down to a single requirement in order to be part of GPP. In order to have access to the GPP program, its partners must have its “Gaming Brand Aligned Exclusively With GeForce.”

The example that will likely resonate best with HardOCP readers is the ASUS Republic of Gamers brand. I have no knowledge if ASUS is a GPP partner, I am simply using the ROG brand hypothetically. If ASUS is an NVIDIA GPP partner, and it wants to continue to use NVIDIA GPUs in its ROG branded video cards, computers, and laptops, it can no longer sell any other company’s GPUs in ROG products. So if ASUS want to keep building NVIDIA-based ROG video cards, it can no longer sell AMD-based ROG video cards, and be a GPP partner.

Some more coverage on forbes
https://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonevangelho/2018/04/17/amd-attacks-nvidia-geforce-partner-program-in-new-blog/#1372d9c872e8

If there is one thing these companies should have learnt by now, is that in the technology market, if you attempt to ‘lock-in’ your technology and force consumers and/or other manufacturers to make decisions where they have no choice, you immediately create an opening for a counter-market that is open and gives the end-user a choice.

Sure, in the short term, Nvidia will make a gain. In the long term, something better than them will come along and everyone will be just be like, ‘yeah, fuck Nvidia’…

I just don’t like what Nvidia are doing at all.